May favorites!

TV

Eurovision Song Contest 2017
Eurovision is a live music contest that takes place every year, it sees countries of Europe (and now Australia!) each perform an original song. Then each country votes for their favourite song and the voting is revealed at the end of the night. The final scores are a mixture of jury votes and the public votes.

When i watched the semi finals there was only a few songs that i liked but with hearing them again in the final and listening to the soundtrack i’ve added more favourites to the list. Whilst i didn’t particularly agree with Portugal being crowned with the winning song (Bulgaria was robbed!), i did think this year was one of my fave contests of the past few years. I was also very proud of my countries entry, the song was fantastic and Lucie gave a stunning performance.

My fave songs from this years contest:

Australia – Don’t Come Easy
Austria – Running On Air
Bulgaria – Beautiful Mess
Spain – Do It For Your Lover
Greece – This Is Love
Israel – I Feel Alive
Norway – Grab The Moment
Slovenia – On My Way
Sweden – I Can’t Go On

Your Face Or Mine
This TV show hosted by Jimmy Carr & Katherine Ryan sees a couple earning money by judging their own looks and celebrities looks. For example, there is a round where the audience picks out the best male and female members and the couple have to decide where they rank looks wise, in the line ups. It’s funny, it’s entertaining and it’s not to be taken too seriously.

Films

Tomorrow When The War Began
This film had been hanging around in my room unwatched for a long time and i finally decided to see what it was like. It’s about group of Australian teenagers who go on a camping trip, during the trip a war breaks out. They return home to find all their homes empty and go on the run to avoid being captured, working together to try and put a stop to it.
I think that this film was worth watching and i would watch it again, the story was very strong throughout and i felt like we got to know each character well enough.

Music

Lorde – Green Light
Lorde has returned with a song as good as her debut Royals. It’s upbeat and catchy, a win win for me.

John Legend – Love Me Now
They kept advertising his tour on the TV and this song was used for it. I like the chorus especially with “Love Me Now, Love Me Now, Oh oh Love Me Now” parts. I wouldn’t say i’m a big fan of his but every now and then he releases a song i really like. 

Niall Horan – Slow Hands
As much as i loved One Direction, i have to admit that i never appreciated just how talented Niall is and i apologise. Out of the all the solo careers from the guys, Niall has actually impressed me the most. This second single from him has really grew on me and along with ‘This Town’ he has released 2 fantastic songs. I now cannot wait to see what the album is like.

New Hope Club – Welcome To The Club EP: Water, Fixed, Perfume & Friend Of A Friend
I seen them as the support act at The Vamps tour and they impressed me so much.  I love all the songs a lot and have had them on repeat since it was were released. My current favourite is Perfume but believe me all four songs should be heard.

5SOS – Wherever You Are, Story Of Another Us, Out Of My Limit, The Only Reason & Disconnected
I was already
familiar with all of these songs but i finally got around to downloading them. Why they weren’t featured on their albums is beyond me! I basically recommend that you check out all of their discography if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

